Here’s a list of Utah restaurants, bars, bakeries and food truck owned by Asian women

It’s hard to imagine where Utah’s dining industry would be without the hard work — and talent — of Asian women. They own and operate dozens of our favorite restaurants, bars, bakeries and food trucks. Their eateries bring us sushi, pad thai and K-pop fries as well as grilled hamburgers, […]

It’s hard to imagine where Utah’s dining industry would be without the hard work — and talent — of Asian women.

They own and operate dozens of our favorite restaurants, bars, bakeries and food trucks. Their eateries bring us sushi, pad thai and K-pop fries as well as grilled hamburgers, Louisiana-style crawfish and artisan bread.

Utah diners were thinking about many of these female business owners last week, after a series of shootings at three Atlanta-area spas.

Authorities are still investigating the motive behind the shootings that left eight people dead, including six Asian women. But the killings reverberated around the nation, and many believe they were racially motivated.

[Subscribe to our weekly Utah Eats newsletter.]

Maybe that’s why when we asked readers to name their favorite food businesses that are owned and operated by Asian women, they did not disappoint. Here are the 37 restaurants they want you to know about.

Food may not be able to end systemic racism, but surely it can bring us together.

(Francisco Kjolseth | The Salt Lake Tribune) Some of the best places to get “soup to go” this winter includes Pho from Michelle Nguyen and her mother Mai at Pho Tay Ho at 1766 Main Street in Salt Lake City.

Afterward • 98 S. Main, Heber City, 435-615-7700, afterwordrestaurant.com.

Bakes ‘N Bubbles • 6014 S. State St., Murray, 385-220-8100, instagram.com/bakesnbubblesutah.

Bells 48th Street Deli • 1207 W. 4800 South, Taylorsville, 801-262-1211, bellsdeli.com.

Bento Truck • bentotruck.com.

BGR (Burgers Grilled Right) • 1202 Wilmington Ave., Salt Lake City, 801-487-6301, bgrtheburgerjoint.com.

Bucket of Crawfish • 1980 W. 3500 South, West Valley City, 801-419-0900, bucketocrawfish.com.

Chabaar Beyond Thai • 87 W. 7200 South, Midvale, 801-566-5100, bestthaifoodinutah.com/chabaarbeyondthai.

Chanon Thai Café • 278 E. 900 South, Salt Lake City, 801-532-1177, chanonthaislc.com.

East West Connection • 1400 Foothill Drive, Salt Lake City, 801- 581-1128, eastwest-connection.com.

Fat Fish • 1980 W. 3500 South, West Valley City, 801-887-7272; and 595 W. 2600 South, Bountiful, 801-797-5163, fatfishslc.com.

Fav Bistro (Thai) • 1984 E. Murray-Holladay Road, Holladay, 801-676-9300, bestthaifoodinutah.com/favbistro.

Honey Teahive • honeyteahive.com or call 801-998-2057.

Hong Kong Tea House • 565 W. 200 South, Salt Lake City, 801-531-7010, hongkongteahouse.yolasite.com/.

Laan Na Thai • 336 W. 300 South, Salt Lake City, 801-363-2717.

Mims SLC Bread • https://mimsslc.com/.

Mom’s Kitchen • 2233 S State St, Salt Lake City, 801-486-0092 or momskitchenut.com

Montauk Bistro • 12449 S. Fort St., Draper, 801-572-2996, montauk-bistro.com.

Mulan Chinese Restaurant • 9651 S. State, Sandy, 801-255-9229 or mulanchinesesandy.com

Muyly Miller Cakes • 801-503-8934 or https://muylymillerco.com/.

My Thai Asian Cuisine • 1425 S. 300 West, Salt Lake City, 801-505-4999, https://mythaiasiancuisine.com/.

Oh Mai Sandwich Kitchen • Several locations, http://ohmaisandwichkitchen.com/.

OMO Korean BBQ • 2000 W. 3500 South, West Valley City, 385-301-8970, omobbq.com.

Over the Counter Cafe • 2343 E. 3300 South, Salt Lake City, 801-487-8725 or overthecountercafe.weebly.com

Pho Tay Ho • 1766 S. Main St., Salt Lake City, 385-240-0309, photayho.com.

Prin-Ya Custard • 801-201-0919 or prin-ya-custard-online-store.square.site

Purgatory Bar • 62 E. 700 South, Salt Lake City, 801-596-2294, purgatorybar.com.

Sala Thai Kitchen • 677 S. 200 West, Salt Lake City, 801-328-2499, https://salathaisaltlake.com/48th.

Sapa Sushi Bar and Asian Grill • 722 S. State St., Salt Lake City, 801- 363-7272, sapabarandgrill.com.

Sawadee Thai • 754 E. South Temple, Salt Lake City, 801-328-8424, http://www.sawadee1.com/.

Simply Thai • 37 W. 10600 South, Sandy, 801-307-1221, simplythaiutah.com.

Skewered Thai • 575 S. 700 East, Salt Lake City, 801-364-1144, skeweredthai.com.

Suzy Thai Food Truck • 801-616-7516 or https://suzythai.com/.

Tea Rose Diner (Thai) • 65 E. 5th Ave., Murray, 801-685-6111, bestthaifoodinutah.com/tea-rose-diner.

Teru Sushi • 1844 Fort Union Blvd., Cottonwood Heights, 801-943-0484.

Thai Garden Bistro • 868 E. 900 South, Salt Lake City, 801-355-8899 or thaigardenbistroslc.com

Tonkatsu Ramen Bar • 1898 W. 3500 South, West Valley City, 385-202-5241 or http://www.tonkotsu.us/

Vegan Bowl • 8672 S. Redwood Road, West Jordan, 801-692-7237 or slcmenu.com/2017/12/28/vegan-bowl-menu/.

Barbara J. Miriam

Next Post

Fort Lauderdale’s Franco & Vinny’s Italian restaurant to close after 50 years

Fri Mar 26 , 2021
FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. – Regarded as the “Pizza Shack” to locals and visitors alike, Franco & Vinny’s in Fort Lauderdale is closing immediately after 50 several years of serving the neighborhood reliable Italian cuisine and delightful artisan pizza. In accordance to the Solar-Sentinel, the community institution is closing just after […]
Fort Lauderdale’s Franco & Vinny’s Italian restaurant to close after 50 years